Android Apps Looking Like iPhone Coolness

Posted: March 15, 2010 in Android
Tags: , , ,

You might be wondering you should you the Android Developer be looking at that link on the right hand side of my blog that lists all my Android Apps Looking Like IPhone Apps knol articles.

This what a typical Android Application title bar looks like:

Notice that it looks like oh say dog shit? We have complained about this since oj say Android 1.1 SDK as far as title bar blandness. Now look at this:

Now does that not look somewhat better? Article tutorial should be up sometime this evening, hit the knol link on the right hand side of this blog. We have the power to get to this high quality because Google and OHA  built an open mobile Operating System and some very cool application APIs on top of it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments
  1. James says:

    I guess it depends on what you care about. Personally I prefer the bland no nonsense UI elements. I’m interested in functionality and the ease at which I can get to information. The color of my title bar is pretty far down on my list of needs.

    Really if I wanted something flashy, I would buy an iPhone or a sense UI phone or something. I get by with the someone bland Nexus One.

    I don’t deny that some pretty graphics would be nice, but pretty graphics for the sake of pretty graphics? That might be interesting for about a minute, then you are more worried about how to get an application to do what you want to do without a lot of fuss.

    A lot of people like pretty things, that’s just perception, as long an app is smartly laid out, I’m pretty happy.

    I know my opinion is just one side of the coin though.

  2. Michael says:

    A joke, right? Blue text on a red background looks better?

    I agree that Android could be fancier but the second screenshot looks worse than the first.

Leave a Reply

